Gingerbread with a pecan streusel!

Hello there,

IMG_7777

I have had pre-mocks over the past few weeks which is why my blog posts have been less frequent. Unfortunately, I will be revising crazily during the Christmas holidays because of my actual mocks that are coming up in January 2015-this is supposedly one of the busiest years of my high school life. Therefore, instead of having less frequent posts, I’ve decided to keep my posts shorter and hopefully I can update Bakering more often as I really want to treasure the time I have at the moment before my real exams come up and bake as much as I can for you all!


IMG_3309

When I brought the Ginger and Molasses cookies (from my previous post) to school, my friends all gave them pretty good reviews so I decided to experiment more with the molasses-perhaps a molasses cake…?! I know that this isn’t the most aesthetic cake but don’t judge it by its appearance-its actually pretty good if I do say so myself. The original recipe is adapted from Smitten Kitchen but I realised that the cake on its own seemed to lack something in terms of texture. The cake was definitely spongy and warm, with great flavour but I somehow thought that it needed a little extra bite. Consequently, I looked back at the various cake recipes that I have posted and I found my banana and coffee cakes which had a pecan streusel which I decided that I could apply to here and it worked!

IMG_3306

Please Enjoy, with a cup of your favourite coffee-in my case that’s a large decaffeinated Nespresso.

Recipe
Ingredients
50g butter
½ cup water
¾ tsp baking soda
1/3 cup dark brown sugar (I used the special Okinawa Black Sugar which adds a deeper spice flavour)
½ cup black strap unsulfured molasses
¼ cup maple syrup/honey
1 large egg at room temperature
1 and ¼ cup flour
1 tsp ground ginger
1 tsp cinnamon
¼ tsp cloves
¼ tsp nutmeg (freshly grated if possible)
¼ tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder

Streusel
¼ cup cold, cubed, butter
¼ cup flour
¼ cup brown sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
¼ cup chopped pecans

Method
Preheat your oven to 190C and line a 8 inch square pan or a 9 inch circle pan with oiled parchment paper and dust this with flour
In a large saucepan, bring the water to a boil and add in the baking soda-this will cause the water to foam up. Set this aside for 5 mins
Meanwhile gather all your dry ingredients: flour, ground ginger, cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg, salt and baking powder and sieve this through a fine mesh sieve and set aside for later.
After the 5 mins, add the butter to the water and stir till it is fully melted.
Add the sugar, maple syrup and the molasses to the saucepan and whisk it in until the sugar is fully incorporated. The mixture should be lukewarm but if not, set this aside for 10-15 mins until it is.
Meanwhile, make your streusel by mixing the flour, sugar and cinnamon in a medium sized bowl.
Add the butter to this mixture and rub it in until it resembles a soft cookie dough
Stir in the chopped pecans and set this aside.
If your saucepan is not large enough to make the batter, transfer this to a large mixing bowl but if it is, continue to make the cake batter in the saucepan.
Whisk the eggs into the molasses mixture until combined before adding in the dry ingredients and folding this through gently until it is just combined and you have a smooth cake batter.
Pour your batter into the cake pan-making sure everything is spread in an even layer before crumbling your streusel into pieces and spreading this over the cake.
Bakes this for approx. 30 mins- until a toothpick comes out clean.
Set aside and leave to cool before serving with either icing sugar and/or whipped cream. You may also make your own glaze if you would like to!*

*If I were to make this again I would make a Chai Spiced Icing glaze to drizzle over the cake.

~Flora

Leave a Reply

