A tale of Two Waffles (part I)

Hello there,

IMG_7605

First of all, I would like to say a HUGE thank you to everyone who has followed me over the past 9 months and it is absolutely mind blowing to me that I’ve reached 150 followers! I can’t thank you all enough especially since I was tempted to stop blogging due to the work and exams that I have been preparing for, but you guys keep me motivated to continue writing!

IMG_7601

Recently, from my trip in Paris, I had noticed quite a few waffle stalls along the streets and I decided to look at the different types of waffles they offered and how they differed from the ones I had in Hong Kong. They offered various types of waffles such as: Gauffres de Liège and Gauffres de Bruxelles and these were all very confusing to me so when I got back home, I decided that it was time to do some research, and the results were very surprising.

First shocking fact: Belgian Waffles are not from Belgium.
“Excuse me, but what did you say just then?”

Yes. Belgian Waffles are not from Belgium.
“Wait what?”

Yes. That was my exact reaction. Belgian Waffles are actually not called ‘Belgian Waffles’ in Belgium. Belgian Waffles are actually just a name for waffles that are made in America but they are different in terms of the ingredients used in waffles from Belgium; Waffles in America use raising agents such as baking powder to create a lighter batter whereas there are 3 main types of Waffles in Belgium which do not use these raising agents.

IMG_7608

In Belgium, and on the streets of Paris, the most common types of Waffles I saw were the Liege Waffle, the Brussels Waffle and the Stroopwaffel. The Liege and Brussels Waffle differ from the previous waffle recipes that I posted on Bakering, as they use yeast as a raising agent. Liege is a place in Eastern Belgium and is a sweet waffle, which uses pearl sugar. With the pearl sugar, the batter is rather heavy a On the other hand, the Brussels Waffle is more on the savory side and is lighter and crisper compared to the Liege Waffle.

Among the two waffles, my favourite is the Liege Waffles though I like both types of waffles because the yeast adds a very interesting taste that makes the waffles feel very rich and flavourful and compared to the ‘Belgian Waffles’, is so much more tastier.

In this post, I only have the recipe for the Liege Waffle but in part II I will have the recipe on the Brussels Waffle!

Liege Waffle Recipe:

Ingredients
1 tbsp light brown sugar
1 and ¾ tsp active dried yeast
1/3 cup lukewarm water
2 cups all purpose flour
½ tsp salt
3 large eggs
½ tsp vanilla extract
¾-1 cup melted butter
3/4 cup of Belgian Pearl Sugar or granulated sugar

Method
In a small bowl, whisk the sugar, yeast and lukewarm water and set aside for 5 mins until it becomes foamy
In a large mixing bowl, whisk the flour and salt together and make a well in the centre.
Pour the yeast mixture into the flour well and mix well with a hand mixer/stand mixer with a paddle attachment at medium speed for 1 minute
Add the eggs to the mixture one at a time and mixing for approx. 20 secs in between each egg to fully incorporate it into the mixture
Whisk in the butter and vanilla extract until a smooth but thick and sticky batter is formed.
Cover the bowl with cling film and leave to rise in a warm place for 1 hour and 45 mins
Stir in the pearl sugar, cover with cling film and leave to rest for another 15 mins
Preheat your waffle iron and brush with melted butter/oil
Gently stir the batter in your bowl to deflate and put approx. 1/4 cup of batter per waffle in your waffle iron according to the size of your iron
Cook according to your waffle iron’s directions/until golden and crisp.
Transfer to plates or keep warm in previously preheated oven until ready to serve

~Flora

2 thoughts on “A tale of Two Waffles (part I)

Leave a Reply

