Day 1~Paris!

Hello there!

I hate to start on a sad note but its better to say it first and leave the best for last right? So here’s the bad news: This is the second time I’ve had to write this post because WordPress didn’t save my changes and everything couldn’t be restored as well as the images I wanted to upload just wouldn’t upload because I had some technical issues with WordPress.

Anyways, it’s been such a long time since I’ve posted here but I’m glad to announce that I’ve finally visited Paris in France! I visited Paris between the 11th and 18th of October and I’m also 15 as my birthday was 2 days ago on the 25th!

So let’s get into this!

Every year, my school organises a school camp/trip where they allow students to go abroad or stay local for a week to do various activities and in my school this is called CAS week! Well as you all will be wondering what this is: CAS is a short notation for Creativity, Action and Service which is the three types of elements that each of this school trip will try to contain as a part of a educational and cultural experience where students get to go out and experience the world! There were many options as to what you could choose but I chose to go to Paris because I felt that after learning 4 years of French, it was about time that I left my mark on this infamous city! Although this is not a recipe post or a food related post which I would normally do, I felt like sharing this with you all would be great whether or not it had a little bit about food but if you plan to go on holiday in Paris or you’ve been before, it would be great to share my experiences and hear about your previous experiences as well!

The day started with a dark and murky tone to the sky but our hopes weren’t drowned out as the sky gradually lightened up as the day progressed. Me and my friends departed the Charles de Gaulle airport at around 8:30pm and we arrived at our hotel to leave our luggages and listened to a rather tedious but important lecture on safety and pick-pocketing before leaving to enter central Paris at 10:00am.

Screen Shot 2014-10-21 at 4.47.41 pm

The sky was a clear blue with the occasional cloud and it was absolutely gorgeous when juxtaposed against the cream stone walls of many of the buildings in Paris.

Screen Shot 2014-10-21 at 4.47.48 pm

We passed by this local fruit store which prices shocked me due to how cheap the fruits were compared to Hong Kong where the majority of the fruits are imported from abroad.

Screen Shot 2014-10-21 at 4.47.54 pm

A train ticket.

Screen Shot 2014-10-21 at 4.48.08 pm

We departed from Brochant station near our hotel and took the light blue line 13 to Champs-Elysées Clemenceau.

Screen Shot 2014-10-21 at 4.52.23 pm

Taking a promenade down the famous avenue, Champs-Elysées.

Screen Shot 2014-10-21 at 4.52.49 pmScreen Shot 2014-10-21 at 4.52.55 pm

Taking the cliché On the Streets of Paris photo.

Screen Shot 2014-10-21 at 4.53.02 pm

After this, our teachers allowed us to have some free time on Champs-Elysées so we could get some lunch. My friends and I stopped by a mini café and I practiced my unarticulated French by ordering a few sandwiches and drinks for us before going to Paul-this is a major bakery chain in Paris and getting some gorgeously large Macarons. These macarons were around €3.60 and the quality of these macarons were amazing compared to the ones back in Hong Kong.

Screen Shot 2014-10-21 at 6.43.45 pm

Another black and white photo.

Screen Shot 2014-10-21 at 6.43.54 pm

There’s actually a rather funny story about these macarons: As I was about to eat my macaron whilst walking down Champs-Elysées, there was this woman who was dressed very casually and didn’t look homeless in anyway. However, she walked by me and reached out to my macaron and broke off a large chunk and quickly said “Thank you” before popping the entire piece into her mouth and she left. I was extremely shocked as I never expected her to come close to take my food-my hands were covering my bag so that left my precious raspberry macaron out in the open. Lesson learnt: People steal anything Flora. Even food.

Screen Shot 2014-10-21 at 6.44.05 pm

Walking further up Champs-Elysées towards l’Arc de Triomphe.

Screen Shot 2014-10-21 at 6.53.01 pm

L’arc de Triomphe in all its glory.

Screen Shot 2014-10-21 at 6.44.13 pm

Walking up the treacherous stairs to get to the top of l’Arc de Triomphe.

Screen Shot 2014-10-21 at 6.44.36 pm

Though the stairs were extremely tiring, the view that we got at the top of L’arc de Triomphe was absolutely worth it. Standing in the middle of the roundabout, we got to see all the different paths that lead of to the different Arondissements in Paris and we also got to see the Eiffel Tower.

Screen Shot 2014-10-21 at 6.44.20 pm

Most people tend to describe the Eiffel Tower as a ‘beautiful’ or ‘magnificent’ structure. The first word that came up in my mind was actually ‘slender’.

Screen Shot 2014-10-21 at 6.44.29 pm

We had to take a photo with the Eiffel Tower of course.

Screen Shot 2014-10-21 at 6.54.09 pm

I don’t know why I really like Black and White at the moment but it just seems so much more striking-like a photo from the past.

Screen Shot 2014-10-21 at 7.41.55 pm

A candy stall that we passed by which unfortunately I didn’t get time to get candy from.

IMG_2046

Crossing the River Seine.

Screen Shot 2014-10-21 at 7.42.09 pm

Entering the dark, murky sewers of Paris.

Screen Shot 2014-10-21 at 7.42.15 pmScreen Shot 2014-10-21 at 7.42.32 pm

It’s actually very interesting how I learnt about the sewers in Geography at school last year and now I’m actually in them. The video we watched in class really didn’t exaggerate the smell at all. But it’s amazing how a city like Paris depends on this sewer system to function.

Screen Shot 2014-10-21 at 7.42.23 pm

These large spheres are rolled down the sewers to take away all the floating debris and waste materials.

IMG_2068

A breath of fresh air when we left the sewers and walked by la Seine.

IMG_2071

I wish there were these types of little playground/interactive activities on the boardwalks of HK.

IMG_2075

Got a Crepe avec la crème de marrons here (chesnut cream crepes) which tasted absolutely delicious.

IMG_2088

The Egyptian Obelisk on Place de la Concorde.

IMG_2110

Walking through le Jardin de Tuileries and wishing I could just have some time to sit down and bathe in the warm sunlight by this fountain whilst reading a book.

IMG_2113

Sepia filter rarely works on anything but this did work!

IMG_2118

These types of paintings could be seen everywhere over Paris yet it’s a shame how Hong Kong doesn’t have any of this because very few people appreciate it.

IMG_2118 - Version 2

B & W again.

IMG_2149

Sitting down and eating a simple vegetable pasta.

Paris is beautiful. I have no other words.

~Flora

2 thoughts on “Day 1~Paris!

Leave a Reply

