Orange and Chai spiced swirl buns!

Hello there!

Screen Shot 2014-09-05 at 8.29.29 am

In Hong Kong we’ve just celebrated Mid-Autumn Festival a few days ago and to celebrate the fact that Autumn is finally upon us *even though the weather is still pretty hot*, I’ve decided to incorporate two of my favourite fall time food/drinks! I absolutely adore Cinnamon rolls-who doesn’t? The rich cinnamon sweetness along with fluffy cinnamon buns are the best thing to have along with my second favourite fall-time drink: Chai Tea Latte! Chai Tea Lattes are my ultimate comfort drink at Starbucks-they warm me up and are absolutely addictive! Forget about the frappuccinos!–> Chai Tea Lattes are way better! Therefore, today I have brought to you:the Chai Spice Swirled Buns!

Screen Shot 2014-09-05 at 8.55.57 pm

The first time I’ve ever had anything related to Chai Spice was at Starbucks-this intriguing name made me decide to give up on my mocha and macchiato addiction and bring on the chai tea latte obsession! If I were to use one word to  describe Chai Tea Flavour, I would use: October! It’s near the end of fall with its hints of cinnamon and nutmeg, yet the ginger introduces you to Christmas that is approaching us-this is what I call perfection!

Screen Shot 2014-09-05 at 8.29.46 am

Chai Spice, also known as Masala Chai literally means “mixed-spice” tea and it originates from India. It consists of black tea with milk, sweetener along with various spices. There isn’t a defined compulsory list of spices to Chai Spice but this recipe uses a mixture of: cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, allspice, cardamom and ground ginger. This recipe also incorporates orange zest in the bun dough because in my opinion, the citrusy flavour of the orange compliments these pungent warm spices very well! Also, even though I didn’t do this in the photos, I think that you could possibly add dried cranberries to the rolls as well!

I’d also like to give a shout out to my Mum’s friend-Ken who gave me that cute halloween themed knife that I would love to feature in all my other autumn recipes! Thank you so much! 🙂
The Recipe

Ingredients
2 and 1/2 cups flour with extra for dusting
2 tsp yeast
1/3 cup brown sugar
1/3 melted butter
2 eggs-1 is for brushing
200ml milk
Zest of 1 orange
Chai Spice Mix:
1/4 tsp of each-cloves, ground ginger, nutmeg, allspice, cardamom
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 cup brown sugar

Method
In a large bowl, mix together the flour, sugar, yeast, salt and zest of the orange
Make a well in the flour mixture and mix in the butter, then one egg, then milk.
Next, knead this mixture on a well floured surface for 5-10 minutes-until smooth
Cover with cling film and leave to rise for 2 hours
On a well floured roll out into a large rectangle and brush with oil
Scatter the chai spice mixture evenly onto the dough
Roll the dough up tightly from the width of the rectangle and cut into 1 inch thick pieces
In a lightly oiled baking springform pan, place the rolls one by one along the rim until you fill up the pan but leave 0.5cm-1cm gaps in between each roll
Leave to proof for 20 mins covered with clingfilm
Preheat the oven to 190C and beat the remaining egg to make the egg wash
Brush the rolls which have expanded together with the egg wash and bake for 20 mins till golden brown
Leave to cool on a wire rack for 10 mins before cutting and serving.

~Flora

Adapted from Sorted Food’s Cinnamon Swirl Bun!

2 thoughts on “Orange and Chai spiced swirl buns!

Leave a Reply

