Pancake Perfection!

Hello there!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

This is the start of a series that I’ve decided to call: Breakfast in Bed!
I’ve always thought that the key to having a great start to a new day is to have a great breakfast to accompany it! I’ve always also loved the idea of waking up and have a beautiful breakfast! Therefore, this series was born!

I have always considered pancakes a luxurious treat as I rarely have to opportunity to make them at home!
After my trip to Tokyo (this was posted during April) , where I ate one of the best pancakes of my life in Harajuku, I made the decision to perfect the art of the pancake-and trust me it took me quite some time to perfect the art of frying them!

IMG_1733

When I was younger, I always used packet mix for pancakes because I felt that the quality of pre-made boxed pancake mixes wouldn’t be any different than making pancake batter from scratch. I couldn’t believe how wrong I was!

IMG_1750

Pancakes should definitely be made from scratch and these buttermilk pancakes prove so! The freshness of the milk and the lighter, airier texture of just-sieved flour, cannot possibly be compared to packet mixes filled with artificial preservatives and additives! Please, please, please just make them from scratch! The time for you to just make the batter is less than the time it takes for you to go down to the supermarket and grab a mix!

So, here is the recipe for my favourite pancakes, wonderfully drenched in maple syrup alongside a caffé mocha which I enjoyed on this lovely sunday morning!

Ingredients
1 cup All purpose flour
1 tsp Baking powder
2 tbsp sugar
3/4 cup buttermilk
1 tbsp melted butter
1 large egg
pinch of salt

I added lemon zest and poppy seeds to put a twist on this:
zest of 1/2 a lemon
1 tbsp poppy seeds

Method
Whisk the Flour, sugar, buttermilk and egg together in a large bowl
Add the butter and whisk in well
Add the baking powder and give the mixture a final whisk
In a oiled pan at medium heat fry off the pancakes until golden brown-approx. 3 mins.*
Repeat this for all the batter and top with butter and maple syrup!

*Look at the bottom of the pancakes to see if the colour is golden brown and this normally happens when you see 3/4 of the pancake covered with tiny bubbles at the top.

~Flora

Adapted from Byron Talbott’s buttermilk pancakes recipe!

Leave a Reply

