The Molten Lava Cake

Hello there!

Screen Shot 2014-08-29 at 10.40.28 pm

This is the last thing which me and my friends have made on that day where we baked together. *In all honesty, I can’t believe I’m writing about something that I baked a month ago, and I’m sorry~ at least I’m honest about that?! 😉

The glorious Chocolate Molten Lava Cake is one of my all time favourite desserts! No layered cake, pie, tart can ever compare to the moment in which you cut open a lava cake and see the stupendous chocolate fondant trickling out of the cake. Now that, is what I call a true treat! 🙂

Screen Shot 2014-08-29 at 10.44.37 pm

Molten Lava Cakes are often hard to master and I have definitely had my few shares of failing-either the cake was under causing it to collapse when taking it out of the ramekin, or over cooked where there was a soft and gooey inside that resembled undercooked cake batter-*ew*. After my several attempts, I’ve finally come to the conclusion that I should just sit in front of my oven and watch the cake to master the perfect timing: when the outer edges of the cake/ramekin start to come off and bubble whilst the middle is still slightly wobbly. With both these signs there, the cake is complete! That is my advice for you! (:

Je presente, la recette:
Ingredients
Butter for ramekins
Cocoa Powder to dust
200g Dark Chocolate
200g Butter
150g sugar
4 eggs and 2 yolks
200g plain flour

I added some banana slices just because I just love molten chocolate coated bananas (:

Method
Preheat the oven to 200C
Over a pan of simmering water, melt the chocolate and butter in a heat proof bowl
Meanwhile, brush and dust the ramekins with the butter and cocoa powder respectively
Whisk the eggs with sugar until well mixed
Sift the flour into the eggs and mix thoroughly
Pour the melted chocolate into the mixture whilst mixing continuously-this prevents the eggs from setting/coagulating
Divide the batter into ramekins equally and chill for 20 mins
Bake this for 10-12 mins
Leave to cool and rest for 1 min before turning them out

~Flora

Props to a mixture of recipes from the Internet and my mother for putting up with my failed experiments-wasted ingredients!

2 thoughts on “The Molten Lava Cake

Leave a Reply

