Nutella S’mores Cupcakes

Hello there!

Screen Shot 2014-08-15 at 9.08.11 pm

In all honesty: I am quite disorganized. Looking at the date in which I last posted makes me feel so guilty for not posting. For the past few weeks I had gone for a summer camp, and I have also fallen quite ill… But now I’ve fully recovered and I will hopefully stay on top of things though my school year ahead of me is going to be very chaotic-my dreaded GCSE’s are coming soon!

Anyways, today I’d like to present my second baked product that I made with my friends, and as you know from the title, it’s the cupnies!

IMG_1704

I was scrolling through various baking blogs and I was trying to find a simple recipe that my friends (who seldom baked) could easily achieve without too much of a hassle! Alongside of that, I was feeling slightly nostalgic for S’mores which I had when I went to camp! Unfortunately the last time I had a proper s’more by the campfire was quite a long time ago considering HK is a concrete jungle *where dreams are made of* ! Therefore the idea of easy brownie cups (this is actually just an adjusted version of my Nutella brownie bites recipe to suit cupcakes) in a s’more cupcake was born!

This s’more cupcake has a biscuit base, a Nutella cupcake body and a marshmallow frosting on the top! I didn’t blowtorch or caramelize the marshmallow frosting but that is something you could definitely try out!

Without further ado, la recette:
Ingredients
Base:
10 digestive biscuits
5 tbsp melted butter/olive oil
Cupcake:
3 eggs (room temp)
1 and 1/2 cup nutella
1 cup flour
Handful of dark or white chocolate chips-optional
Frosting:
2 egg whites
1/2 cup caster sugar

Method
Base:
Preheat your oven to 180C
Line a cupcake tin with baking cups
Crumble the biscuits and mix in a bowl with the melted butter and then press the crumbs using the back of a fork into the baking cups so they are firmly packed.
Bake this for 10-12 minutes till golden brown and then set aside to cool
Cupcake:
In a large bowl, whisk the eggs and nutella together till thoroughly mixed
Add in the flour and mix well (add chocolate chips to mix in if necessary)
Place the nutella brownie mix into the cupcake holes in equal portions and bake for 13-15 mins
Set aside to cool
Frosting:
Over a bowl of simmering water, whisk the sugar and egg whites until all the sugar dissolves/ 160 F. Make sure the bowl doesn’t touch the water
Remove the bowl from the water and use a hand beater to whisk the mixture till it cools and reaches stiff peaks-approx. 5-10 mins
Pipe this out onto the cooled cupcakes however you like with whatever tips you prefer
*You may also turn the temperature of your oven to the highest temperature and caramelise the topping or you may also a fire torch/gun for that*

~Flora

Props to Naomi from Bakers Royale as forementioned!

Leave a Reply

