Baking with my friends!!

Hello there!

Screen shot 2014-07-18 at 10.16.26 PM

On Monday, my friends and I were at my house, and we made a series of baked products that I was so excited to be able to share with you all! I am glad to say that I am finally able to post this now because I have finally organized everything in my new MacBook!

We made a total of three different things: Soft-baked pretzels, Nutella brownie s’mores cupcakes (or as my friend Ivana calls them cupnies-a mixture of brownie and cupcake) and last but not least a decadent chocolate molten lava cake (my other friend-Celine and I’s favorite dessert)!

Screen shot 2014-07-18 at 10.30.36 PM

However, to make these recipes easier to access and look back to, I have decided to separate them into individual posts. So today, I’m very glad that I can present my first recipe: the soft baked pretzels!

Pretzels bring me back to my favorite childhood moments-when me and my Mum would go shopping and we would get Auntie Anne’s Almond Pretzel along with lemonade! These were the pretzels of my younger childhood but sadly, it’s very hard to find Auntie Anne’s pretzels in Hong Kong due to then frequently closing down over high rent costs. Therefore, with my persistent craving for pretzels at stake, I couldn’t resist finding out how to make pretzels and here is the recipe!

Ingredients
1 and 1/2 cups warm water
2 and 1/4 tsp yeast
1 tsp salt
1 tbsp sugar
4 cups flour
1 large egg beaten
Poppy Seeds, Sesame seeds, Cinnamon sugar etc. for toppings of choice

Method
Preheat oven to 210C
In a large bowl, dissolve the yeast in the water along with salt and sugar-stir well
Add the flour one cup at a time and mix to form a rough dough
On a floured work surface, knead for 3 mins
Cut the dough in to 1/3 cup sized pieces
Shape the pretzels by: rolling each piece of dough into a long rope-approx. 10-15 inches, Fold in half and with the two ends, cross over and twist once or twice. Flip this over onto the bent area of the original rope and fix the overall shape of the pretzel
Add 1 tbsp of soda to a pan of boiling water and boil for a total of 30 secs
Brush the egg wash over and add desired toppings
Bake for 10-15 mins/until golden brown!

~Flora

Adapted from Sally’s Baking Addiction original soft baked pretzel recipe

Leave a Reply

