Multi Grain-seed bread!

Hello there!

Screen Shot 2014-07-11 at 5.20.50 pm

Today I present to you this Multi Grain/seed bread which I find super duper nutritious and healthy and I guarantee you that it will be the perfect start to your day in the morning! This bread has 5 different seeds and grains as shown in the diagram below! *I made this diagram myself; I’m not sure if you recognise the slate plate that I used in my previous recipes*

Screen Shot 2014-07-11 at 10.12.17 am

Out of all these seeds, my favourite seed is flaxseed because of its nutritional value! Similarly to couscous, flaxseed is something that I have just been introduced to and I’m glad that I’ve realised the existence of such a powerful superfood which I hope to incorporate into my other recipes in future! I’m already contemplating to make a flaxseed topping on top of muffins!

For those of you that do not know Flaxseed that well: It has properties that help reduce the risk of heart disease, cancer, diabetes and strokes! It contains soluble and insoluble types of fibres, a great amount of lignans compared to other foods, and omega-3 essential fatty acids!

Screen Shot 2014-07-11 at 5.12.02 pm

For breakfast, I often eat a slice of bread with an orange or a banana to accompany it alongside a mug of tea. What I find really sad is that I know that a lot of my classmates seem to have very little time to eat breakfast in the morning and therefore skip it, I must say that it is important because I know that I cannot cope without it and I guarantee that you would feel so much more energised with it! So…

Message for future kids out there: EAT BREAKFAST! EAT IT AND YOUR GRADES WILL GO UP!

The recipe:
Ingredients
1 and 3/4 tsp yeast
1 and 1/8 cup warm water
2 tbsp honey
2 tbsp olive oil and extra to oil bowls
1 and 1/4 cup plain/all purpose flour
1 and 3/8 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup rye flour
3/4 cup wheat berries
1/4 cup rolled oats
1/4 cup flaxseed
1/6 cup Β and 2 tsp sunflower seeds
3 tbsp and 1 tsp poppy seeds
1 egg white

Method
In a small bowl sprinkle yeast over 1/4 cup of water and add honey then whisk together till yeast is dissolved and let stand for approx. 5 mins
In a separate medium sized bowl, whisk together all purpose, whole wheat and rye flour with salt
In a large bowl pour in the yeast mixture and add olive oil and the remaining water, then add 1 and 1/2 cups of the flour mixture and mix well with a wooden spoon or spatula till smooth
Add the rest of the flour to the large bowl 1/2 cup at a time but mixing thoroughly each time
Take 2 tsp of wheat berries, rolled oats, flaxseeds, sunflower seeds and 1 tsp poppy seeds and set aside in a small bowl for the topping
Add the rest of the wheat berries, rolled oats, flaxseeds, sunflower seeds and poppy seeds to the dough mixture and mix thoroughly
Oil a large bowl and meanwhile on a flour dusted work surface, knead the dough for approx. 10 mins or until smooth and elastic and shape into a ball
Place the dough in the oiled bowl and cover with cling film to proof for 1 hour until doubled in side
Punch out some of the air from the dough and on a floured work surface, roll the dough into a 16 by 16cm square
Fold the square into thirds and seal the seams on both sides by pinching
With a loaf tin lined with greaseproof paper, place the dough with the seam facing down and brush the dough with egg white
Sprinkle the left over seeds and grains that were previously set aside onto the dough
Cover the loaf tin with cling film and leave to proof for 1 hour and 15 mins till the dough rises above the tin slightly
Preheat the oven to 220C and bake the bread for 40 mins but rotating the pan after 20 mins
Complete!

~Flora

Adapted from Martha Stewarts Multi Grain Bread

 

4 thoughts on “Multi Grain-seed bread!

  1. This is a very good one Flora… Thank you for making me remember my own childhood with home baked bread. Sometimes my grandmother let us taste the warm bread spread with butter that melted and a thin layer of sugar on top (!) … Not very healthy now a days, but I think it didn’t make me any harm back then … over 30 years ago.
    I’ll try it soon … But please check the quantity of water in this recipe; the ingredient list says 1 and 1/8 cup but description only mention 1/4 cup. πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you Pal! I might have made a typing mistake there! The butter and sugar spread sounds absolutely delicious but slightly unhealthy haha! πŸ™‚ I would’ve loved to try out the norwegian bread that your grandmother made-I’m sure it must have been delicious!

Leave a Reply

