Bagels!

Hello there!

Screen shot 2014-07-05 at 5.15.55 PM

I’ve been rather lazy lately but I’m pretty determined to get bakering back on track! I’ve been busy with the last weeks of school and I actually made a short trip to Nagoya in Japan! But I’m back in the kitchen and ready to cook! πŸ™‚

Screen shot 2014-07-05 at 5.16.04 PM

Bagels are one of my dad’s favourite breads and therefore, I’ve decided to stop going to the local bakery and I’ve adapted a bagel recipe which I can make!

Screen shot 2014-07-05 at 5.26.39 PM

Bagels are one of the funniest breads in my opinion because you have to ‘boil’ them which I never knew of until now-it’s like cooking the dough twice! I baked two different types of bagels this time-poppy seed and sesame seed bagels! Sesame seed bagels have a stronger flavour compared to poppy seed bagels, however the contrast of the dark blue/black seeds against the golden brown bagel is also very attractive!

Screen shot 2014-07-05 at 5.26.57 PM

This picture pretty much symbolizes “breakfast with flora” as I love having bread with a refreshing cup of tea in the morning whilst I scroll through my phone for emails etc. I love bagels and my favourite bagel to go to is a poppy seed bagel! IΒ would smear cream cheese all over it and add a few slices of smoked salmon and baby spinach to make the bagel sandwich! <– That is the perfect treat, trust me!

Flora’s lame joke insert:
Why do seagulls fly over the sea?
If they flew over the bay, they’d become bagels!

*I really need to work on jokes* *sorry (not sorry)* πŸ™‚

Here’s an extra picture of my chinese-style fried rice with a cup of thai mint and lemongrass tea, which I had for lunch!

Screen shot 2014-07-05 at 5.27.07 PM

Ingredients
1 tsp yeast
500g strong white flour/bread flour, Β leave some extra for shaping and dusting work surfaces
2 tbsp sugar-light brown or granulated is fine
1 tsp oil-for greasing
1 tbsp bicarbonate of soda
1 egg white to glaze
Poppy seeds, sesame seeds-any seeds of your choice

Method
Mix the yeast with 300ml warm water and set aside
Mix the flour, sugar and a tsp sprinkle of salt in a large bowl
Pour over the yeast liquid into the flour mixture and mix to form a rough dough
Place the rough dough over a floured surface and knead for 10 mins till smooth and elastic
With a brush, oil the bowl that you used to mix the flour and place your dough in the bowl
Cover this bowl with lightly oiled cling film and leave to proof in a warm place till doubled in size/for an hour
Take the dough out and separate into 8 equal pieces-if you want to be very accurate, you may weigh out each piece of dough to get equal pieces
Roll these pieces of dough into small balls and place it onto your baking tray (you may line this with greaseproof paper)
Cover your tray with cling film and leave to proof for 20 mins-till they puff up
Meanwhile preheat your oven to 180C
Using a floured finger, make a hole in the centre of each ball of dough-make the diameter approx 1.5-2cm
Bring a saucepan of water to the boil and add in the bicarbonate of soda
Place 1-2 bagels in the pan (depending on the size of your pan) and boil for 1 minute-you must flip the bagel halfway through so that it boils on each side for 30 secs
Repeat this for all the bagels and drain out the excess water
Place the bagels back on the baking tray and brush them with egg white
Sprinkle over your choice of seeds
Bake for 20-30 mins*
Leave to cool on a wire rack for approx. 5 mins, but you can leave them to cool through and then toast them if you want a crispier bagel

*Poppy seed bagels brown quicker compared to my sesame bagels. Therefore, I recommend that you bake the poppyseed bagels for approx. 25 mins and sesame bagels for 25+ mins

~Flora

Props to Edd Kimber (Winner of Great Britain Bake Off 2010) who I adapted this recipe from!

7 thoughts on “Bagels!

Leave a Reply

