Blueberry Crumb Bars!

Hello there!

Screen shot 2014-06-05 at 8.55.57 PM

Blueberries are in the season as summer is pretty much here! I can’t wait for the summer because “I love all things warm!”-*inserting the casual Olaf quote from Frozen*! 😉

Blue skies and the blue sea can definitely be accompanied by some blueberries too! Therefore, I think it’s a great time to start making things with summer fruits such as these delicious blueberry bars mmm…! The pictures aren’t so great because Hong Kong was having rather bipolar weather at the time that I made this. Therefore, the lighting was pretty dim unfortunately :/

Screen shot 2014-05-31 at 5.03.35 PM

I present these bars which have an oozing rich filling and a crumbly melt-in-your-mouth crumb topping and crust! I snuck these two pieces up into my room for revision even though I was meant to save some for tomorrow *wink*

Screen shot 2014-05-31 at 5.03.22 PM

Blueberry bars are a perfect afternoon snack or breakfast which I would eat along with a glass of fresh milk! I’d definitely make and pack these for a picnic to share around! Normally when I adapt recipes, I lower the butter/fat content but if you’re ready to indulge then go ahead and put 2 more tablespoons of butter in because I guarantee that the butter will give the perfect melting crumbliness that’s worth dying for… *I’m pretty much drooling as I write this*

I’m gonna keep this pretty short because I’m sure that you’ll want this recipe… NOW!

Ingredients
3/4 cup white sugar
1/2 tsp baking powder-heaped
2 and 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
2/3 cup cold unsalted butter
1 egg
1/4 teaspoon salt
Zest and juice of a  lemon
3 and 1/2 cups fresh blueberries
1/3 cup white sugar
2 teaspoons cornstarch

Method
Preheat the oven to 190 C
Mix together the 3/8 cup white sugar, flour, baking powder, salt and lemon zest in a large mixing bowl
Blend in the butter and egg using a fork or pastry cutter till you have a crumbly dough
Press the dough into the bottom of the tin but leave 1/3 to 1/2 of the dough for sprinkling later
In a separate bowl, mix together sugar, cornstarch and lemon juice
Carefully fold the blueberries into the lemon juice mixture-till the blueberries are coated
Pour blueberry mixture evenly over the crust and then crumble and sprinkle the leftover dough
Bake for 40 mins till top is slightly brown
Leave to cool completely before cutting into squares
Complete!

9×9 inch pan, makes 16 bars!

~Flora

Adapted from Smitten Kitchen

3 thoughts on “Blueberry Crumb Bars!

Leave a Reply

