Chocolate Cupcakes!

Hello there!

Screen shot 2014-05-31 at 4.54.48 PM

Honestly, It’s great to be back and it’s almost one month since I last updated! I’ve missed writing this blog so so much and I’m really glad that my exams are over! Yay!

Screen shot 2014-05-31 at 4.54.15 PM

To celebrate, I’ve made these chocolate cupcakes with a swiss meringue buttercream and a raspberry top! I personally find chocolate cakes very moist and sometimes they can be quite heavy so a light meringue buttercream makes it sweet and fluffy! To add an acidic/tart like flavour to it, the raspberry is almost like a floral touch to this cupcake and brings it all together together! P.S. I’ve removed my braces now!!!! So this picture is kind of my final goodbye to the braces that I have had since I was 10… I actually kind of miss them!

Screen shot 2014-05-31 at 4.54.35 PM

Raspberries are honestly my favourite berries! I think it just stands out to me with its bright colour and flavour which almost seems as if it is crying out “choose me!”. Recently, I’ve seen pictures of yellow/golden raspberries and blue raspberries and I’ve never seen them in Hong Kong but I’d love to try them out!

Screen shot 2014-05-31 at 4.52.08 PM

If I were to change this cupcake, I’d love to play with spicy flavours-season the chocolate cake with a pinch of cayenne pepper as sweet, spicy and sour are flavours that I love to play around with! If you do try to add spices to this recipe or your own cakes, comment below! I’d love to hear about it!

Without further ado, here’s the recipe:
Ingredients
Chocolate Cupcake
1 cup all purpose flour
3/4 cup sugar
1/3 cup and 2 tbsp cocoa powder
1/2 cup butter-melted and lukewarm
2 large eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
Pinch of salt
1/2 cup hot water
1/2 tsp baking soda

Frosting
1 egg white
9 tsp caster sugar
50g butter-sliced and softened
Pinch of Salt
Drop of Vanilla Extract

A handful of raspberries

Method
Chocolate Cupcake
Preheat oven to 190 C
In a large bowl mix together thoroughly: flour, cocoa powder, sugar, baking soda, and salt
Add butter, eggs, vanilla and mix with a hand or stand mixer on medium speed for approx. 1 min
Add half the water and beat for 20 secs
Scrape the sides of the bowl, add remaining water and mix again
Pour batter into cupcake/muffin holes and bake for 18-22 minutes until a toothpick comes out clean

Frosting
Over a saucepan of barely simmering water, in a bowl not touching the water, whisk the egg white and sugar gently till it is 160 F,or there is no more sugar-it is all dissolved and not grainy
Take the bowl off the saucepan and using a hand mixer beat the egg whites on medium high speed till the egg white mixture has cooled down and formed stiff peaks
Add the butter in slice by slice but mixing till incorporated each time a slice is added
Keep beating on medium high speed as the frosting will look almost curdled, but it will eventually become smooth
Once smooth, add salt and vanilla to season and mix thorougly

Assembling
Once the cupcakes are cooled, pipe out the frosting carefully and top it with a raspberry! Complete!

~Flora

One thought on “Chocolate Cupcakes!

  1. Congratulations on finishing the exams and the removal of the braces. Your beautiful cupcakes are perfect for the occasion. I absolutely love chocolate cake and vanilla icing or vanilla cake with chocolate icing, maybe it’s the contrast. Your piped icing is just gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

