Nutella Brownie Bites!

Hello there!

Screen shot 2014-05-08 at 9.26.42 PM

Just the sound of the word Nutella is appetizing in my opinion. Honestly, I love Ferrero, I seriously do, I mean to make Nutella is like the best thing ever! Nutella is the ultimate cheering-up food for me and for almost everyone! I’ve never heard someone who said “I don’t like nutella”, it’s as if it’s impossible! Ferrero Rochers are also the most amazing chocolates ever!


Screen shot 2014-05-08 at 9.26.58 PM

Anyways getting back on topic, I’d like to make it clear that I apologize as this is going to be my last post of this month and all the way up to June 9th. This is because I will be doing my exams and I really need to focus on them. I’m really sorry, but I think that this will be a great ending recipe to my first full 4 months on Bakering and for a short break *well I will be working on my academic studies* Hopefully I will be posting much more often during the summer-I have a target of posting twice a week!

Screen shot 2014-05-08 at 9.27.05 PM

I’m proud to say that these brownie bites are almost my own recipe as I combined two different recipes-the nutella brownies from butter baking and the swiss meringue nutella frosting from bakers royale. I think that these two recipes though they were meant for separate purposes, blended in perfectly and tasted wonderfully of hazelnut! They are also a great companion snack to keep me motivated to do my revision!

Screen shot 2014-05-08 at 9.25.55 PM

This is the first time I’ve ever tried to make a meringue frosting and I absolutely adore it-it’s smooth and shiny and almost cream like but with that extra shine to it! It took me two attempts in total to finally get it right-do make sure that you separate the eggs very very well as I had a little bit of yolk but that already caused it to fail :((

The recipe you’ve been waiting for after all this rambling is here:

Makes 24 mini brownies but with extra icing to spare ;))

Ingredients
Nutella Brownies
1 cup Nutella
10 tbsp flour
2 eggs
Pinch of salt
Frosting
1 egg white
9 tsp caster sugar
50g butter-sliced and softened
2 tbsp Nutella
Pinch of salt

Method
Nutella Brownies
Preheat oven to 180 C
Mix all four ingredients together and evenly divide batter into mini muffin pan
Bake for 7-9 mins depending on your oven
Leave to cool to prepare frosting
Frosting
Over a saucepan of barely simmering water, in a bowl not touching the water, whisk the egg white and sugar gently till it is 160 F,or there is no more sugar-it is all dissolved and not grainy
Take the bowl off the saucepan and using a hand mixer beat the egg whites on medium high speed till the egg white mixture has cooled down and formed stiff peaks
Add the butter in slice by slice but mixing till incorporated each time a slice is added
Keep beating on medium high speed as the frosting will look almost curdled, but it will eventually become smooth
Once smooth, add salt and vanilla to season
Add in the nutella and beat again
By this time the brownies will have cooled, and you may pipe the frosting on top!

Complete!

See you all in June! I really look forward to blogging again though I have my exams coming soon! πŸ™‚

~Flora

Props to butter baking and bakers royale once again!

6 thoughts on “Nutella Brownie Bites!

  1. I’m a huge nutella fan – so these look completely irresistible! Beautiful post by the way, and i love the photography ❀ πŸ™‚
    thesartorialcoquette.com

Leave a Reply

