Blondies! (not the stereotypical ones okay)

Hello there!

Screen shot 2014-05-04 at 9.32.18 PM

Most of you may think: “ugh she’s totally talking about those stereotypical blondes” but hey there’s an “I” emphasis on the blond I es okay! Plus this is a food blog okay! *I’m probably going to be using *okay* a lot this post because I’ve re-read tfios* :))

Screen shot 2014-05-04 at 9.31.55 PM

Anyways, getting back on track, I’ve always loved brownies as you could see from my previous post on the divergent dauntless chocolate brownies! Lately, I was introduced to the idea of “blondies” which I never knew existed and the difference is that they are made from white chocolate!

On a second note, I’ve finally changed my wooden board to this slate board which I find super cool. The brand for the slate plate is a French brand called Rovel, their culinary plates are amazing!

Screen shot 2014-05-04 at 9.32.36 PM

I wasn’t a huge fan of white chocolate but given that this recipe was with dried cranberries-one of my favourite berries and from a trusted source *yes thank you Gordon Ramsay*, I decided to give it a go!

Screen shot 2014-05-04 at 9.32.24 PM

White chocolate and cranberries are the perfect combination! Normally I would steer clear because: hey white chocolate isn’t exactly “chocolate”. But, the cranberries add an extra tart-tangy flavour which compliments this so well I might as well be a new white chocolate fan!

Screen shot 2014-05-04 at 9.32.50 PM

The only thing I would add next time is pecans, because pecans go perfectly well with brownies and with the extra crunch in this recipe, I’m sure it’ll be perfect then!

Recipe:
Ingredients
230g butter, plus extra for greasing
340g dark brown sugar
Pinch of salt
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 eggs, lightly beaten
280g plain flour
Β½ tsp bicarbonate of soda
1 tsp baking powder
240g white chocolate, chopped into small chunks
4 tbsp dried cranberries

Method
Preheat your oven to 180 C and butter and line your 9 inch square pan with baking paper
Melt the butter on medium low heat in a sauce pan and when melted, give the butter a good whisk so the blondies are fluffier
In a separate large bowl containing the sugar and salt, whisk in the butter gradually till well mixed
Add in vanilla extract and mix again
Sift the flour, bicarbonate of soda and baking powder in a separate bowl
Add the flour mixture to the butter mixture in separate portions, whisking well between each addition to make sure there are no lumps
Leave mixture to cool slightly if still warm
Using a spatula, fold in the white chocolate chunks and dried cranberries, till mixed evenly but do not overmix
Pour batter into tin and using the back of the spatula spread it out evenly in the tin
Bake for 35-40 mins till outer edges are firm but the centre is slightly soft
Leave on a wire rack to cool for 10 mins and then cut into squares before serving

~Flora

Props to Gordon Ramsay once again and I’ve also done another of his recipes-a herb gnocchi with peas recipe, please check it out!

3 thoughts on “Blondies! (not the stereotypical ones okay)

  1. You take the most interesting images of your food – so very artful –
    Thank you for sharing your young talent. I think my daughter is going to try out this recipe!
    AnnMarie

Leave a Reply

