Banana, Coconut and Coffee Cake with a Pecan Streusel

Hello there!

Screen shot 2014-04-06 at 5.09.29 PM

Wow that was a long title to type! I’m really sorry for updating so late! This is my 20th post on Bakering! I’ve been so caught up in these horrible science exams and they were horrible to revise for (especially physics) 😦 On a happier note, I’ve finally made some time to bake!

I present to you a Banana, Coconut and Coffee Cake with an extraΒ pecanΒ streusel! That’s quite a mouthful to say haha!

Screen shot 2014-04-06 at 5.09.09 PM

Gosh, now I think about it, doesn’t the presentation look like a smiley face! Awh! πŸ™‚

Screen shot 2014-04-06 at 5.09.20 PM

This cake is no plain banana cake but one with extra texture from the dessicated coconut and the crunchy pecan streusel! With a hint of coffee, this is the perfect breakfast treat with a hint of sweetness from the icing! Compared to the other recipes I’ve had so far, the cakes might not look as appealing as this is much more rustic but anyways, please enjoy!

La recette:
Ingredients
1 cup flour
1/4 cup desiccated/flaked coconut
1/3 tbsp baking powder
1/3 tsp baking soda
Sprinkle of salt
1/3 Β cup butter softened
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 large egg
1 ripe banana mashed
1/8 cup strongly brewed coffee/ coffee liquor
1 tbsp milk
1 tsp vanilla
Streusel
1/4 cup flour
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 cup cold butter
1/3 cup coarsely chopped pecans

Method
Preheat oven to 200C
Mix together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, coconut and salt
Beat the butter and two sugars on medium speed until light and fluffy
Beat in the egg till mixed thoroughly
Beat in the banana milk, coffee and vanilla on low speed till just combined
Beat in the flour mixture and pour into greased 8″ springform pan
For Streusel
Mix flour, sugar and cinnamon together
Rub in butter to form a coarse crumb and then stir in the chopped pecans
Sprinkle over the cake
Bake for 30-35 mins
Complete!

~Flora

I really hope I can update soon as the easter holidays are soon coming up! I’d probably be quite busy in the next 2 months because of exams-mocks for GCSE’s and all of that so summer will be a very busy time for Bakering! I hopefully would even update every day! πŸ™‚

Props to Bakers Royale leading me to the BHG website!

8 thoughts on “Banana, Coconut and Coffee Cake with a Pecan Streusel

  1. I could kill for coconut sweets! I am such a sucker for anything with coconuts in it. Lovely blog by the way, I see that you visited Negishi at Kitte! That is one of my favorite restaurants in Tokyo. And you are super cute! Keep up the great blogging!

    Oh, if you like coffee you should have tried the Kohidaifuku! (^-^)

Leave a Reply

