Matcha/Green Tea Cupcakes!

Hello there!

Screen shot 2014-03-17 at 10.44.15 PM

Happy Saint Patrick’s Day!
I’m actually proud that I’m updating quite often on this blog, but at the same time procrastination on my school side is a little bit on an edge as I have a math test tomorrow! D:

Screen shot 2014-03-17 at 10.46.28 PM

I’d like to have said I’ve done something related to this day, but without Guiness, I obviously cant make it St. Patrick’s themed… So anyways, I’ve finally made these Matcha/Green Tea Cupcakes! *Actually they are green so I guess I’ve tried to go with the celebration?!*

Screen shot 2014-03-17 at 10.46.13 PM

I adore Japan, it’s such a beautiful place: The culture, the people, the cute things, the stationary and most of all the food!!!
I’m not even Japanese but I’m proud to say I’ve been there over 20 times! It’s an absolutely beautiful place to go for holiday!

Matcha is actually like お茢 pronounced “o-cha”!

Screen shot 2014-03-17 at 10.54.53 PM

I’ve decided to do a two-tone cream-cheese frosting which I’ve never tried before but it looks absolutely beautiful and next time, I’d definitely try to make the green frosting darker so that it contrasts even more!

May I present, the recipe:

Ingredients
Cupcakes:
100g Butter
3/4 cup Sugar
1 and 3/4 cup Self Raising Flour
1/2 Tsp of Vanilla Essence
1 Egg
1 cup of Buttermilk
2 Tbsp of Green Tea Matcha Powder. (you can add more for a richer taste)

Method
Preheat oven to 150 C
Melt the butter and in a mixing bowl, mix the butter with the sugar thoroughly
Sift or whisk flour till there are no lumps
Add egg and vanilla essence to butter and sugar mix
Add the flour and matcha powder, and the buttermilk alternately: divided both in to two different batches to make it easier to fold in
Pour batter into cupcake liners
Bake for 15-20 mins
Leave to Cool

Frosting:
Ingredients
8 ounce pack cream cheese
1/4 cup butter
1/3 cup Icing Sugar
1 tbsp matcha powder

Method
Beat cream cheese, butter and icing sugar till fluffy
Set aside 1 half of the icing and with the remaining half, beat in matcha powder
With a piping bag, fill one half side of the piping bag with the plain cream cheese frosting and the other with matcha frosting
Squeeze out all the air and pipe!
ComplΓ©tement!

~Flora

Props to dessertaddictsanonymous.wordpress.com! The icing is my own recipe and you can add more sugar because I’m not too keen on sickly sweet icings!

17 thoughts on “Matcha/Green Tea Cupcakes!

    1. Hey Amelia!
      To be honest, I used to be really bad at piping as well! It just comes with practice but make sure you’re using the right technique:
      1) Always hold the piping bag at a 90ΒΊC Angle, never to the side
      2) Squeeze with the same strength throughout
      3) Also when doing the classic swirl-the one that is in used in this post, when ending pull straight upwards when you’re finished so you get that nice tip that is slightly pointed!
      Good luck with your piping! πŸ™‚

  1. These look amazing!! What a great idea! I love your blog, your recipes all sound divine! And they’re so unique and beautiful too!! I’m 15, so I’m so happy to find another teen blogging & posting delish recipes! Keep up the great work!! πŸ˜€

  2. These look beautiful!! The frosting swirls look absolutely perfect – I’ve been trying to improve my piping, but haven’t been terribly successful yet. Thanks for the pronunciation tip, too – “matcha” is one of those words I always see but haven’t heard pronounced, so in my head I had it wrong.

    1. Haha you’re welcome! My frosting skills weren’t great-mines were actually horrible at first, but keep trying, I’m sure your frosting skills are bound to improve! πŸ™‚ Practice makes perfect, eh? πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

