Lemon and Raspberry Mousse!

Hello there!

How are you all? Spring has arrived! But along with spring, has arrived my 1000 views! It’s been only two weeks and to me this is amazing so a big big thank you to those who have been supporting this blog!!

Screen shot 2014-03-06 at 7.59.52 AM

To celebrate this, I’ve decided to take a little leap of fate and make mousse.
If you’ve known me for a while, most know that I’d steer clear of mousses as I dislike them quite a bit,Β  I meant a lot.Β This is because most that I’ve tried are so dense and overly rich that I feel sick afterwards…

Screen shot 2014-03-05 at 9.42.29 PM

But this alternative is a beautifully light and refreshing mousse that I’d say is a great opening to my spring desserts! It has changed my views towards the rich gooey mousses that make me feel queasy, plus I could guarantee that I finished those two mousses in 8 minutes!

Screen shot 2014-03-05 at 8.50.14 PM

Here I present my raspberry lemon layered mousse!

Raspberry Mousse
Ingredients
250g Raspberries (save around 8 for decorations)
1/2 sachet of gelatin powder
1/2 cup whipping cream
1/4 cup sugar
Juice of half a lemon

Method
Put gelatin powder with juice of half a lemon in a small bowl and set aside for gelatin to soften-2 mins
Meanwhile puree raspberries and pass through a sieve into a saucepan
Put sugar into the saucepan and cook whilst stirring occasionally, until bubbles form at the edge
Prepare a ice bath whilst this is cooking
Add gelatin and cook until it dissolves-approx. 1 min
Pour saucepan mixture into a small bowl and place this in the ice bath to cool
Whip 1/2 cream into stiff peaks and fold in the cooled raspberry mixture

Lemon Mousse
Ingredients
Juice of Β 1/2 lemon
1/2 sachet of gelatin
1/4 cup sugar
1/2 cup cream

Method
In a small bowl place lemon juice, gelatin and 1/3 cup of water and stir to combine-let gelatin soften approx. 2 mins
Put gelatin mixture and sugar into a sauce pan and cook until gelatin dissolves-approx. 4 mins
Put lemon mixture back into the small bowl and place in an ice bath to cool
Meanwhile beat cream to stiff peaks
Fold lemon mixture into the cream

Assembling the layers
Depending on which flavour you want to go first just label them A and B
Put layer A first but leave some for the higher layers-a suitable amount
Put in the freezer for approx. 10 mins until top is set
Take out and pour in layer B
Put in the freezer for approx. 10 mins until top is set
Alternate between the layers until both mousse mixes are used up
~Flora

Props to Martha Stewart for the separate mousse recipes but I decided to mix them to make a perfect combination!

12 thoughts on “Lemon and Raspberry Mousse!

Leave a Reply

