Gingerbread Cupcakes!

Hello there!

I’d like to say thank you for letting me pass 500 views today! It’s probably not a lot to many of you bloggers out there but it means a lot to me! So in celebration I have two things to share with you today! First of all, is some of the new pictures and banners I’ve added to Bakering! My friend Mia and I were bored so we took photos of me and these large spoons and forks! So here it is *if you’re too lazy to check my blog*!

cropped-screen-shot-2014-03-01-at-11-39-56-am.png

And for my second surprise… My Gingerbread cupcakes!

IMG_4464

It was quite a cold day, and I was craving something that had a lot of spices and was really cosy… Gingerbread sounded like the perfect option to me and I’ve never tried it so I thought it would be great to try out!

Screen shot 2014-02-22 at 9.04.31 PM

In these cupcakes, I’ve used a variety of ground ginger, cinnamon, nutmeg and all spice which all combine together giving me a homey cosy feel to this cold winter day! Topped with cream cheese frosting, this is my ultimate winter cupcake yet!

IMG_4490

Ingredients
1 and 1/4 cup flour
1 tbsp cocoa powder
1 and 1/4 tsp ground ginger
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon allspice
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup oil
1/2 cup powdered sugar
1/3 cup honey
1 egg
1 egg yolk
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 cup water, warm

Cream Cheese Frosting
8 ounce cream cheese
1 and 1/2 tbsp butter
1/3 cup icing sugar

Methods
Preheat oven to 200 C
Sift flour, cocoa powder, nutmeg, ground ginger, cinnamon, allspice and salt
Using a paddle attachment hand mixer or a stand mixer, beat oil and sugar together
Add the honey, egg and egg yolk and beat with oil mix
Add the flour mixture in batches, mixing each time so that it is fully combined
Dissolve baking soda in the water and then add to cupcake mix and mix
Fill cupcake liners 2/3 to 3/4 full
Bake for 18-20 mins

Beat Cream cheese and butter till fluffy and beat in powdered sugar
When cupcakes are cooled, ice them
Complete!

~Flora

Props to Casey Reinhardt, winner of Cupcake Wars
Her original recipe used butter and a different cream cheese frosting, but I used oil for a moister cake

4 thoughts on “Gingerbread Cupcakes!

Leave a Reply

