Banana Bread!

Hello there!

How’s it going? I’ve been having quite a lot of homework lately and I’ve had so many things to do that most days I’ve been going to bed late and I’ve had to wake up early in the morning… So, I figured that I needed a good breakfast to help me feel alive and awake for the day ahead… So I hereby present to you, My Spiced Banana Bread!

IMG_4361

This is basically how breakfast is served at home, I put everything on my wooden board and I carry it to the table where my family can help ourselves to the bread, the banana slices, nuts and all! This banana bread is my favourite as I like the way it’s not too sweet but it tastes so strongly of the spices and makes it strong and *deceives me* for something unhealthy! Don’t worry, this is probably going to be one of my healthiest posts!

IMG_4373

I’m not sure a lot of people are fans of dried fruit but I am for sure! Instead of residing to the classic chips and chocolate snacks that most people of my age go straight for, I’ve gone with a healthier option of dried fruit and nuts *because my mother is quite the health freak in the family*!

This is a mixture of Dried apples and grapes, hazelnuts, and many others! I strongly recommend trail mixes for snacks to stop your cravings at times around 5 pm before dinner!

IMG_4374


Without further rambling, Here’s the recipe!

Ingredients
3 medium sized bananas
1 egg
1/3 cup olive oil
1/3 cup light brown sugar
2 squirts of maple syrup-feel free to add up to 1/4-1/3 cup, (i just like mines less sweet)
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp nutmeg-you may make this 1/4 tsp, *I’m a big fan of nutmeg*
1/4 tsp cloves
Sprinkle of Salt
1 and 1/2 cup flour

Chopped walnuts is optional

Method
Preheat your oven to 190 C and line your loaf tin with baking paper
Mash bananas with a potato masher/wooden spoon/fork until it is almost lump-free
Whisk in egg, oil, sugar, syrup and vanilla extract
Sprinkle in baking soda, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves
Stir in the flour carefully and then fold in the walnuts
Pour into prepared tin and bake for 30-40 mins
Complete!

~Flora

Props to Smitten Kitchen!

Leave a Reply

