Lemon Tarts!

Hello there!

Happy Valentines Day! Actually scratch that… Happy Singles Awareness Day! It’s S.A.D ;)) You get it? Anyways, I’ve been tired of seeing all those sweet red velvet cakes, or chocolate recipes out there who are all so lovey-dovey and in time with the season… So for those who are  single-pringles, or basically forever alone (just like me) *virtual high 5*, I’ve decided to give those with a sour valentines day a slightly sour… Lemon Tart recipe!

IMG_4348

Ironically… this is my first ever mini tart recipe but I’m glad it turned out quite well!

IMG_4352

I’ve always liked eating tarts and even though I’m not a big fan of the fillings… I love the pastry! Pastry is just buttery and crunchy and it’s just perfect!  I wish that I could just go to a bakery sometimes and just ask for pastry cups! Wouldn’t that be great… don’t you think!! ;))

IMG_4318

So yep… Here’s the recipe!

IMG_4357

Ingredients:
For the Pastry
90g unsalted butter
3 tbsp water
1 tbsp vegetable oil
1 tbsp sugar
Pinch of salt
1 cup flour
For the filling
1/8 cup plain flour
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 cup lemon juice
Zest of 1 lemon
2 small eggs
Pinch of salt

Method:
Preheat the oven to 200 C
For the pastry, place butter, water, oil, sugar and salt in an oven proof and place in oven to melt until butter is bubbling at the edges (approx. 15 mins)
Remove bowl from the oven and stir in the flour quickly till a dough that pulls away from the sides of the dish is formed
Put a teaspoon of dough into a mini muffin hole and press up the base and sides using fingers till dough is used up
Prick the dough with a fork at least 3 times
Bake the dough for 12-14 mins till golden brown and set aside to cool
For the tart filling, reduce the oven to 150 C
Combine flour and sugar, then add zest and juice and mix well to dissolve sugar
In a separate bowl, whisk eggs and salt together
Add eggs to the lemon mixture and whisk well to combine thoroughly
Pour filling into the tarts and bake for 5-10 mins till the centre of the tarts are just set
Complete!

Makes approx. 24 mini muffin sized tarts

~Flora

Props to Butter Baking once again! I changed the recipe slightly to fit my Electrolux oven!

4 thoughts on “Lemon Tarts!

  1. How cute are these!! I love lemon tarts (I actually posted a citrus-y tart for V-day this year too, haha), and these look like they’re JUST the right size…to eat 10 in one sitting. Oh wait, is that just me…?

    1. Hey! Thank you so much! I checked out your raspberry lemon tarts and I really like the choice of combination! Raspberry and lemon is something I absolutely adore together-if you saw my mousse recipe! 🙂 P.S. I did eat 10 in one sitting 😉

Leave a Reply

