Chocolate Chip Cookies!

Hello there!

How are you all? For the past few days, things have been going absolutely crazy and when I need a stress reliever, baking is my ultimate strategy… So Anyways… I have decided to share out of all my chocolate chip cookie recipes… my ultimate recipe!

Image

This time… photography hasn’t gone so well because my (iphone) camera wasn’t working and had a few problems so… even though it doesn’t look that good, I give you a 99.9% guarantee that they taste good!

I’ve used a mixture of both white and brown sugar in this cookie recipe as here are some facts I learnt a few days ago:

  • White sugar-makes the cookie crunchier and crisper
  • Brown sugar-makes the cookie chewier
    So… A mixture of them both makes the best cookies in my mind!
  • Also, chilling cookies allow them to be more crumblier as the dough can relax before baking

P.S. honestly, chocolate chip cookies aren’t the most aesthetically good looking of all desserts… :3

IMG_4287

Anyways… I should stop rambling so here’s the recipe!

Ingredients
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup white sugar
100g butter (cold and cubed)
1 tsp espresso powder-it adds a hint of bitterness that is absolutely optional but I’d add it if I were you ;))
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 egg
1 and 1/4 cup flour
1/4 tsp baking soda
3/4 cup chocolate chips/finely chopped chocolate
sprinkle of salt

Method
Combine both sugars and butter and combine with an electrical mixer to form a grainy paste
Add the vanilla, espresso powder and egg and mix again till just combined-you do not want to dissolve the sugars
Add flour, baking powder, chocolate chips and salt and mix with a wooden spoon/spatula to form a dough
Chill in the fridge for around 30 mins or more and preheat oven to 160 C
Scoop tablespoon sized balls of dough onto your baking tray but leave room in between as the cookies will spread out
Bake for 20-22 mins-cookies will bounce back when touched lightly in the centre
Transfer cookies to a cooling rack once finished!

Makes 15 cookies

~Flora

Props to Butter Baking, her blog is absolutely amazing and I absolutely adore her photography, it’s insane!

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Cookies!

Leave a Reply

