Tiramisu

Hello there! 

It’s quite late at the moment as I’m writing this and I’m sorry for not updating in a while as Chinese New Year has been here and kept me quite busy! I hope you all had a good one if you did celebrate it! 

I’ve been craving Tiramisu for quite some time and I’ve always thought of it as a complicated dessert but in reality, it’s much simpler than I thought it was going to be! 

 

Image

Woah, that’s a rather large picture compared to normal-I’m sorry I don’t know how to use WordPress that well yet! :3

I’ve always believed that tiramisu was made from a very special combination/ratio of flour, eggs, butter etc. to make it’s unique sponge texture! It’s funny for me to think that the sponge was made when I finally realized how that unique sponge texture was created…

Image

Yes! You wouldn’t believe it would be the Italian Ladyfinger biscuits! I mean really… biscuits?!? I was shocked when I researched the tiramisu recipe to find out that these biscuits were sponge biscuits and were soaked in coffee!

Anyways… Here’s this easy alternative to a tiramisu (without the mascarpone)!  

Ingredients

  • 3 tbsp Expresso Powder (I used normally coffee because I like that more) 
  • 8 ounce bar cream cheese
  • 1/4 cup whipping cream
  • 1/8 cup sugar (I like less sugar so it tastes slightly sour *adds an edge*)
  • 100g ladyfingers
  • Cocoa powder for dusting 

Method

In a medium bowl put 3 tablespoons of boiling water and 3/4 cup room temp. water with the expresso powder and mix, the set aside
Beat the cream cheese with the whipping cream and sugar till light and fluffy
In a regular loaf tin, layer with cling film and then spread a layer of the cream cheese
Dip the ladyfingers in the expresso and layer them on the cream cheese
Repeat the layer of cream cheese, lady fingers, and another layer of cream cheese at the top
Refrigerate for a minimum of 6 hours*
When serving dust with a layer of cocoa powder

Complete!

*The longer you refrigerate, the stronger the flavour-the cream can have some of that coffee flavour as well

~Flora

Props to Martha Stewart’s Easy Tiramisu! 

 

6 thoughts on “Tiramisu

Leave a Reply

